The Music of Robert Nelson
Robert Nelson's music has captivated audiences, critics, and peers for over four decades.
Instrumental and Chamber Music Catalog

• Rondo Concertante* – for chamber ensemble
Commissioned by the Houston Symphony for The Magical Musical Time Tour, an educational videotape

• Music for a Celebration* – for chamber ensemble
•Commissioned by KUHF Radio for the occasion of their 50th anniversary
Included on the CD Classic Innovation available from KUHF Radio

• Visions: A Musical Offering to M.C.Escher – triple quartet

• Suite of Characteristic Dances* – clarinet and piano
Commissioned by Duo Con Fuoco

• Impressions/Expressions – for two pianos*
Commissioned by Ruth Tomfohrde and Timothy Hester
This work appears on the CD Shadows and Music, Troy 845, from Albany Records

• Duo Sonata for Alto Saxophone and Double Bass
Commissioned by Richard Nunemaker
This work appears on the CD Between Silence and Darkness, AUR CD 3119

• Evocations: Eschatos, Eos, Chorea – for trumpet ensemble

• Hip Fables – for harp and double bass

• Improv #1 –solo flute*
• Improv #2 –solo flute*

• Ceremonial Music for Organ and Brass: Fanfares and Processional
Commissioned by Dr. Robert Jones and the Symphonic Brass

• Ceremonial Music for Organ and Brass: Intonation and Canzona

• Serenade on C-B, piano solo

• Music for Wind Instruments and Percussion

• Passacaglia and Fugue – string bass and piano

• Variations – for two pianos

• Divertimento for Clarinet, Cello, and Piano

• Fours - an entertainment for Saxophone Quartet

• Clarinet Quartet

• Caprichos - character pieces based on etchings of Francisco Goya - for Saxophone Quartet

• Odysseus - Baritone Sax and Piano
Based on the poetry of Homer
Written for Aaron Lington


*Recordings are available to the selections marked with the asterisk.
**Available from Classical Vocal Reprints,

Posted: Nov-15-2018
Back to List
Back to Top