The Music of Robert Nelson
Robert Nelson's music has captivated audiences, critics, and peers for over four decades.
Opera Catalog

Tickets, Please - commissioned by The Texas Opera Theatre
Opera in One Act - Adapted from the story by D.H. Lawrence
Libretto by Sidney L. Berger

Cast: Nora – soprano
Annie – mezzo-soprano
Laura – mezzo-soprano
Emmy – alto
Polly – alto
Cissy – alto
John Thomas – tenor or lyric baritone
Orchestration: Flute (doubling Piccolo), Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn, Trumpet, Trombone, Percussion (one or two players), Guitar, Piano, Violins, Celli, Bass.

Video tape of the Des Moines Metro production available.

The Demon Lover – commissioned by the Lyric Arts Festival in honor of the Texas Sesquicentennial

Awarded Honorable Mention in the One-act Opera competition sponsored by the National Opera Association
Opera in One Act
Original story and libretto by Sidney L. Berger
Cast: Lucinda Givens – soprano
Simon Price - tenor
D.K., a cowhand – tenor
Roy, a cowhand – Baritone
Dessie Glover – mezzo-soprano
Jennie Piersall – speaking role
Preacher – bass
Small chorus
Orchestration: Clarinet, Violin, Cello, Piano.

The Man Who Corrupted Hadleyville

Opera in Two Acts
Adapted from a short story by Mark Twain
Libretto by Kate Pogue
Cast: Edward Richards, a minister – tenor
Mary, his wife – soprano
Mother Richards – mezzo-soprano
Burgess, a photographer – baritone
Pinkerton, the mayor – baritone
Mrs. Pinkerton – mezzo-soprano
Mr. Billson – tenor
Mr. Wilson – tenor
` Dr. Ramsey – bass
Mrs. Billson – mezzo-soprano
Mrs. Wilson – soprano
Mrs. Ramsey – soprano
Chorus of townspeople, children, and reporters

The Selfish Giant – commissioned by the Children’s Chorus of Victoria and the Houston Boychoir

Opera in One Act
Adapted from the Oscar Wilde fairy tale
Libretto by Sharon Shepley-Fink
Cast: The Giant – bass-baritone
The Little Boy – treble
Many small roles, treble chorus
Optional orchestra: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn, Percussion (one player), Piano, Harp, Two Violins, Viola, Cello, Bass.

A Room With a View

Opera in Two Acts, fifteen scenes
Based on the novel by E. M. Forster
Libretto by Buck Ross
Cast: Lucy Honeychurch – soprano
Charlotte Bartlett, her spinster cousin – mezzo-soprano
Mr. Emerson – bass-baritone
George Emerson, his son – baritone
Miss Lavish, a novelist – soprano
Mr. Beebe, an English clergyman – baritone
Mr. Eager, an English chaplain in Florence – tenor
Miss Alan #1 – soprano
Miss Alan #2 – soprano
Cecil Vyse, Lucy’s fiancé – tenor
Mrs. Honeychurch, Lucy’s mother – soprano
Freddy Honeychurch, Lucy’s brother – tenor
A Driver – tenor
An Italian Girl – soprano
Supernumeraries, no chorus
Orchestra: 2 Flutes (1st doubling Piccolo), 2 Oboes (2nd doubling English Horn), 2 Clarinets, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns, 2 Trumpets, 2 Tenor Trombones, Bass Trombone, Percussion (one or two players), Harp, Strings. There is also an on-stage piano part.
Concert version available on An American Voice, Troy 381, Albany Records
DVD of the complete performance available from Newport Classics

• The School for Scandal - commissioned by the Edith Bates Moores Opera Theatre

Opera in two acts, based on the play by Richard Brinsley Sheridan
Libretto by Buck Ross

Cast: Lady Sneerwell - mezzo soprano
Snake - character tenor
Joseph Surface - tenor
Charles Surface - baritone
Sir Oliver Surface - bass-baritone
Sir Peter Teazle - lyric baritone
Lady Teazle - high lyric soprano
Maria - lyric soprano
Mrs. Candour - colorature soprano
Sir Benjamin Backbite - baritone
Mr. Crabtree - character tenor
Rowley - tenor or high Baritone
Mr. Monopoly - character tenor
Careless - chorus tenor
Trip - chorus tenor
Sir Harry - chorus baritone

Orchestra:  2 Flutes (1st doubling Piccolo), Oboe, 2 Clarinets, Bassoon, Horn, Percussion, Harpsichord, Strings.



*Recordings are available to the selections marked with the asterisk.
**Available from Classical Vocal Reprints,

Posted: Nov-13-2018
Back to List
Back to Top